School of Nursing Alumni Awards

School of Nursing pin

Each year, the School of Nursing Alumni Association presents these awards to graduates who have made outstanding contributions in the field of nursing:

• The School of Nursing Distinguished Alumnus Award
• The School of Nursing Hall of Fame Award
• The Betty Lee Evans Excellence in Nursing Award

Deborah Jones      SON 2020 awards cover

Click here to view video message from Dean, Dr. Deborah Jones Click here to view the October 2020 Awards Program


2020 Distinguished Alumnus
Phyllis J. Waters, PhD, MS, RN
Class of 2008

Waters 2020 Distinguished Alumn
For over 35 years, Dr. Waters has served in a wide range of clinical and academic leadership roles, including serving as the Associate Dean for Practice for the UTMB School of Nursing from 1994-2003.  During her career she has led a number of strategic initiatives designed to facilitate clinical-academic collaboration in practice and research, developed and implemented nursing professional practice models to promote practice excellence, and facilitated leadership development and strategic organizational development. Her professional and research foci are in creating healing environments, theory-informed evidence-based practice and transformational leadership. Currently, Dr. Waters is a professor and holds the Carol and Odis Peavy Endowed Chair in Nursing at the University of St. Thomas Peavy School of Nursing in Houston and serves as the Associate Dean of Graduate Studies and Professional Advancement.

Click here to listen to a special recorded message from Dr. Waters.

2020 School of Nursing Alumni Association Awardees

The Betty Lee Evans Nursing Excellence Awardees

Leger 2020 Evans Roach 2020 Evans Stangeland 2020 Evans
Dr. J. Michael Leger,
Class of 1995 & 2016
Dell E. Roach,
Class of 1986 & 1992
Dr. Paula Stangeland,
Class of 2011


The Hall of Fame Awardees

Al-Arabi 2020 HOF Branham 2020 HOF Edwards 2020 HOF
Dr. Safa'a A. Al-Arabi,
Class of 2003
Dr. Steven W. Branham,
Class of 1996
Dr. Allison P. Edwards,
Class of 1987


Student Leadership Awardee

Kennedy - 2020 student leader awardee
Dr. Kerry M. Kennedy
Class of 2020




Honors an alumnus who has made major contributions to nursing through a commitment of excellence in patient care, research, publications, education, community service and/or leadership.

Nominations for 2020 are closed.
The 2020 recipient will be announced at Homecoming in October.


Honors alumni who have made significant contributions to the nursing profession in clinical practice, education, administration or organizational work involving health care.


Nominations for 2020 are closed.
The 2020 awardees will be announced at Homecoming in October.


Recognizes nursing practice and the delivery of excellence in patient care at UTMB by graduates of the School of Nursing.

Nominations for 2020 are now closed.
The 2020 recipient will be announced at Homecoming in October.


View a historical list of School of Nursing alumni who have received these special awards dating back to 1971.


© Copyright 2017 The University of Texas Medical Branch.  Site Policies and Required Links