School of Health Professions Distinguished Alumni Award
The highest honor bestowed by the SHP Alumni Association is presented annually to one alumnus who has made major contributions to the health profession through commitment of excellence, research, education, community service and leadership roles.

2021 Recipient
Wendy Katzman, PT, DPTSc, OCS

Katzman 2021 SHP distinguished alumna

A 1973 graduate of the SHP Physical Therapy program, Dr. Katzman completed her formal education at the University of California/ San Francisco State University graduate program and later obtained her Doctor of Science Degree in 2006.

Dr. Katzman has had a long career as a physical therapist clinician, and later conducted clinical research among older adults with age-related hyperkyphosis.

Her research interests include musculoskeletal aging, in particular the effects of hyperkyphosis on physical function and health-related quality of life. She has received numerous grants and has authored more than 35 peer-reviewed articles, co-authored one book chapter, and produced two educational DVDs.

She retired in 2019 and is currently Professor Emertius with the Department of Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Sciences with UCSF/SFSU.


Nominations for 2022 are closed. The winner will be recognized at the school's commencement ceremony on August 19, 2022. 


View a historical list of School of Health Professions alumni who have received the Distinguished Alumnus Award dating back to 1982.