GSBS Distinguished Alumnus Award

The GSBS Distinguished Alumnus Award is presented annually to a graduate who has made outstanding contributions in the area of service, involvement and leadership or has achieved special recognition in his or her professional career.

Nominations for the 2017 GSBS Distinguished Alumnus Award are being accepted now through Friday, March 3.

To nominate someone, please send a letter of recommendation and a current CV of the person you are nominating via email to
Denise Reed at
Questions?  Call Denise Reed at 409.772.5840

Nomination criteria includes:
• nominee should have received a masters or doctoral degree for work done at
UTMB Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
• nominee's contribution might include research, teaching, science administration, consultation, editorship, officer of scientific societies, participation in symposia, etc.
• recipient of the award must be available to deliver a brief address at the GSBS commencement ceremony
on Friday, May 19, 2017 at Levin Hall

2016 Recipient
Dr. Slobodan Paessler, Class of 2007

Dr. Joan Nichols and GSBS Dean, Dr. David Niesel

Dr. Slobodan Paessler s is presented the 2016 Distinguished Alumnus Award by Dean David W. Niesel during the GSBS 48th commencement ceremony in May 2016.

 Previous Distinguished Alumni Recipients

Name Program Class Year Award Year
Erle K. Adrian, MD, PhD Anatomy 1967 1982
Harvey Bunce III, PhD Preventive Medicine & Community Health 1978 2005
Kenneth C. Carter, PhD Human Biological Chemistry & Genetics 1989 1999
Evelyn Tiffany Castiglioni, PhD Human Biological Chemistry & Genetics 1979 2002
Gilbert A. Castro, PhD Microbiology & Immunology 1966 1979
Thomas M. Crisp, PhD                    Anatomy 1966 1987
Jerry C. Daniels, MD, PhD Anatomy 1973 1990
Michael H. Droge, PhD Physiology & Biophysics 1982 2012
Richard W. Drummond, PhD Human Biological Chemistry & Genetics 1980 1997
Anthony Martin Gerdes, BS, PhD Anatomy 1978 2013
Burhan Ghanayem, PhD Pharmacology & Toxicology 1983 1998
William H. Griffith, III, PhD Pharmacology & Toxicology 1980 2014
Mary E. Guinan, MD, PhD Cellular Physiology & Molecular Biophysics 1969 2001
Melvin Hess, PhD* Anatomy 1952 1977
Jacob Paul Hieble, PhD Pharmacology & Toxicology 1977 1993
T.C. Hsu, PhD* Preventive Medicine & Community Health 1953 1996
George R. Jackson, MD, PhD   Human Biological Chemistry & Genetics 1993 2011
James H. Jorgensen, PhD Microbiology & Immunology 1973 2007
Samuel N. Kolmen, PhD Cellular Physiology& Molecular Biophysics 1957 1981
Matthew M. LaVail, PhD Anatomy 1969 1984
Gailen Marshall, MD, PhD Human Biological Chemistry & Genetics 1979 2010
Faith McLellan, PhD Medical Humanities 1998 2009
Mary Treinen Moslen, PhD Preventive Medicine & Community Health 1983 1984
Susan Lynn Naylor, PhD Human Biological Chemistry & Genetics 1977 1995
J. Arly Nelson, PhD Pharmacology & Toxicology 1970 1991
Joan E. Nichols, PhD Microbiology & Immunology 1999 2015
John M. Nickerson, PhD Human Biological Chemistry & Genetics 1980 2008
Leroy Olson, PhD* Preventive Medicine & Community Health 1957 1978
Slobodan Paessler, DVM, PhD Experimental Pathology 2007 2016
Ben G. Raimer, MA, MD Human Biological Chemistry & Genetics 1970 2003
Cynthia Robbins-Roth, PhD Human Biological Chemistry & Genetics 1980 2006
William B. Stavinoha, PhD Pharmacology 1959 1980
Daniel L. Traber, PhD* Cellular Physiology & Molecular Biophysics 1965 1985
Fernando M. Trevino, PhD Preventive Medicine & Community Health 1979 2000
Robert G. Urban, PhD Microbiology & Immunology 1991 2004
Johan E. van Lier, PhD Biochemistry 1969 1983
Martin A. Wasserman, PhD Pharmacology & Toxicology 1972 1986
Joseph G. Wood, PhD  Anatomy 1962 1976


For information on the GSBS Distinguished Alumnus Award, contact Denise Reed at 409-772-5840 or email

© Copyright 2010 The University of Texas Medical Branch.  Site Policies and Required Links