2018 Ashbel Smith Distinguished Alumni

Recognition for outstanding service to the medical profession and humankind.

For a list of all Ashbel Smith Distinguished Alumni Recipients click here.

2018 ASDA recipients 

 The 2018 Ashbel Smith Distinguished Alumni were recognized at a special ceremony and reception at The Moody Gardens Hotel and Convention Center on Friday, June 1 and honored at the School of Medicine Commencement Ceremony on Saturday, June 2. Pictured, from left, are Drs. George R. Brown, Leonard S. Marks, Jack W. McAninch and Michael H. Malloy.  Not pictured, Dr. Donald R. Butts.


George BrownGeorge R. Brown, MD, FACR - Class of 1962

After graduating from UTMB, Dr. Brown served in the United States Air Force for three years.  In 1969 he joined M.D. Anderson in Houston, Texas as a clinical professor in the Radiation Oncology Department.  He then moved to Austin, Texas where he entered private practice and in 1997 helped co-found Austin Cancer Centers.  Throughout his career, Dr. Brown has served on several committees with the Texas Radiological Society and is a Fellow of the American College of Radiology.  He has published articles, authored textbook chapters and given world-wide presentations on breast and gynecological cancer.  Other achievements include his role as Chairman on the Governor's Breast Task Force which recommended standards for breast cancer treatment in 1987. 



Donald ButtsDonald R. Butts, MD – Class of 1962

Dr. Butts continued his medical training at Hermann Hospital in Houston, Texas and enlisted in the United States Navy as an officer and gentleman doctor in 1963.  After his military service, Dr. Butts returned to Houston to do a residency in general surgery and in 1970 became a clinical associate professor at the University of Texas McGovern Medical School where he taught more than 120 colon and rectal surgeons.  He later joined the Colon & Rectal Clinic, PA where he worked until his retirement in 2015. Throughout his career he served on the boards of numerous medical societies such as the Texas Medical Association, the Harris County Medical Society, and the Houston Academy of Medicine.  Dr. Butts has been honored with many distinguished and excellence awards and has been published in journals such as Texas Medicine and the American Journal of Surgery.



Michael MalloyMichael H. Malloy, MD, MS – Class of 1973

After completing a two-year pediatric residency at UTMB, Dr. Malloy accepted a neonatology fellowship at University of Texas Health Science Center and worked there until 1978. He then did postgraduate research training in developmental nutrition at Columbia University in New York before returning to UTMB in 1980 to serve as assistant professor in the Division of Neonatology in the Department of Pediatrics. Later he earned a Master of Science in Epidemiology and served as a Research Medical Officer at the National Institute for Child Health and Human Development from 1986 to 1991. He returned to UTMB again in 1991 and has continued his clinical work as a neonatologist working in nurseries and providing bedside teaching to medical students, residents and fellows. Dr. Malloy has been involved with the John P. McGovern Osler Student Societies at UTMB since 2007 and was awarded the inaugural John P. McGovern Chair in Oslerian Education and has been recognized by the organization with an Award for Excellence in Clinical Training.



Leonard MarksLeonard S. Marks, MD – Class of 1969

Dr. Marks completed an internship and surgical residency at UCLA Harbor General Hospital in 1971 then went on to serve in the U.S. Public Health Service as a Lieutenant Commander. In 1973 he was named a post-doctoral research scholar at the UCLA School of Medicine and completed a urology residency there before being named the Lecturer in Urology in 1978. He went into private practice in Los Angles and later rejoined the UCLA faculty in 2009. Dr. Marks is credited with creating the non-profit research organization, Urological Sciences Research Foundation. He has served as web site editor for The Gold Journal and has authored more than 150 scientific publications. For his work in scientific evaluation of alternative medicines, Dr. Marks was appointed to committees of the American Urological Association, the National Institutes of Health and the National Academy of Sciences. Currently, Dr. Marks is professor and inaugural holder of the deKernion Chair in Urology at the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA.



Jack McAninchJack W. McAninch, MD, FACS, FRCS – Class of 1964

Dr. McAninch was an honor graduate and named the Gold-Headed Cane Awardee in 1964. He completed general surgery and urology training at Letterman Army Hospital and after 13 years of active military duty he joined the faculty at the University of California in San Francisco (UCSF). In 1977 he was named Chief of Urology at San Francisco General Hospital. A recognized leader in clinical outcomes research in the area of urotrauma and reconstructive urological surgery, Dr. McAninch has trained more than 25 Fellows in the field. He held offices with the American Board of Urology, the American College of Surgeons and the American Association for the Surgery of Trauma and has received numerous awards in recognition for his contributions to urological surgery. Today, Dr. McAninch is Professor Emeritus at UCSF where he continues his research and teaches.