ASDA generic banner

The Ashbel Smith Distinguished Alumni (ASDA) Awards are the highest alumni honor bestowed by the university's School of Medicine Alumni Association.  The award, recognizing outstanding service to the medical profession and to humanity, honors the memory of Dr. Ashbel Smith. 

Born in 1805 in Hartford, Connecticut, Smith moved to Texas in 1837 after graduating from Yale Medical School.  A prominent figure in Texas medicine, politics and education, Smith was considered the driving force behind establishing the University of Texas at Austin in 1881, and a medical department that would later be known as the University of Texas Medical Branch in Galveston in 1891.

2022 ASDA Awardees

Full biographies for each awardee can be accessed below:

Dr. C. Clifton Barnhart, Jr.
Dr. Cheri L. Canon
Dr. James R. Cullington
Dr. Charles Alvin Jones
Dr. Donald W. Owens
Dr. C. Ritchie Spence


Nominations for the 2023 awards will open this fall. Nominations forms will be posted here when the application process is opened.


View a historical list of School of Medicine alumni who have been honored with  the Ashbel Smith Distinguished Alumnus Award dating back to 1965. 



ASDA criteria


© Copyright 2017 The University of Texas Medical Branch.  Site Policies and Required Links