More than 1,900 historic specimens are in danger of deterioration.  Adopt your specimen today!
More than 1,900 historic specimens are in danger of deterioration. Adopt your specimen today!



Help Preserve a Piece of UTMB History

Alumni, faculty, staff and the community are invited to participate in the Adopt-A-Specimen Initiative to help UTMB preserve a unique collection by adopting a specimen to ensure its enduring value.

More than 1,900 specimens were crucial tools for medical training generations ago.  These unique wet, dry and wax specimens date back to the late nineteenth century and are in danger of deterioration if not carefully maintained.

This initiative is an opportunity to support the care of these collections to include environmental monitoring, conservation, and purchase of preservation supplies.  These specimens, along with the vast medical memorabilia collections, will form the nucleus of the future medical museum at Old Red.

An engraved plaque commemorating the donor's adoption will be attached to each specimen container.  






Nominations for 2020 ASDA Awards Accepted Through November 8


The Ashbel Smith Distinguished Alumnus (ASDA) Award is the highest alumni honor bestowed by the university's School of Medicine Alumni Association.

To date, only 218 School of Medicine graduates have been honored as an ASDA awardee since the inception of the award in 1965.  Each awardee has dedicated their lives to patients, students, communities and their professions.

Recognize an School of Medicine alumni who has exhibited outstanding service to the medical profession and humanity by submitting a nomination today.



 What you can do!

Make a GIFT to your school

UPDATE your contact information

SHARE YOUR NEWS in class notes 

SUPPORT your school's alumni association

COME BACK to campus for various events

  JOIN the President's Cabinet


Follow us today!


The UTMB Newsroom Feed | All Categories
How life changes like childbirth and menstruation affect women's mental health
Thursday, October 10, 2019 12:00:00 PM

Let's celebrate physician assistants week
Wednesday, October 09, 2019 11:55:00 AM

© Copyright 2017 The University of Texas Medical Branch.  Site Policies and Required Links